Big Post of Randomness

So, I survived preparing for and pulling off a wedding!

dancing 4

Here are a few of the crafty things that went into the wedding:

Flowers – bouquets, flower girls, boutonnières, corsages, and tables

flower girls w flowers flowers

table

I made all the flowers out of card stock (in purples and a couple of black and white prints and out of book pages – Scarlet Pimpernel and Lays of Beleriand to be exact…). The corsages had the same flowers as the bouquets and the boutonnières were the same as the flower girls (naturally only a few buds vs giant balls of them…)

Shawl (actual knitting!!!)

CIMG0555
The whole thing blocking, the bed is a queen and it goes off the edges

Project: Queen for a Day
Pattern:Queen Anne’s Lace
Designer: MMario
Source: Ravelry

CIMG0556
blocked centre

Yarn: my hand spun lace weight
Colour Way/Fibre: Lorna’s Lace’s Wool Top, in Black Purl from the Loopy Ewe
Needles: 3.25, 4 and 4.5 (mostly 4.5)mm circulars
Started:  April 22, 2013
Finished: May 17, 2013
Blocked:  August 2013… nothing like waiting until the last minute…

CIMG0557
blocked edge

Notes: Loved it, knit up fast and blocked beautifully.  I was looking for something that would come together quickly and could showcase my handspun.

I covered the guest book/ thesaurus.

guest book
I don’t have any pictures of the outside… but the fabric which peeks around the edges is a black on white damask canvas

And made the programmes, the confetti for the tables, the table numbers, and a variety of game cards for the tables. I also painted my fan black because it was natural wood coloured with purple fabric originally…

And I’ve also finished the MDAK shawl!  It only took me 5 years…. all the good pictures are the ones I took in Ontario of the first half, hopefully I’ll get some new ones of the finished shawl from my Aunt for whom it was a gift.

And I’ve been quilting up a storm.  With a few baby quilts, more super hero blocks, and a sewing machine cover for my new sewing machine (nothing special a Wal-mart Brother with quilting attachments, but she runs smooth and has a walking foot and can wind bobbins so I’m in heaven).

My current mega quilt project is a Churn Dash quilt as part of the 100 Club at the LQS Fabric Cupboard.  The Club works like this… there are (roughly) 100 spaces available you pay a nominal amount for one of those spots then each month you have to show up to the store yourself to pick up the fabric for a set of blocks – when all is said and done you would have a twin-ish size top for $15 – but of course the chances of you going back to the store once a month at least for months and only getting the kit are slim to noneish, especially with the coupons included with the kit (I’m thinking my first one might be a rotating mat…).  This is a brilliant small business idea, I applaud the owner for it and will happily participate and dutifully pick up random things when I go in for my kits.  Also you can get extra kits to make the top larger (queen size) and a border – which I will also be getting.

Anyway, I was reading the other day a blog post extolling the virtues of discussing process so I figured I’d outline here how I’m making my blocks (which I am pleased and shocked to say are turning out rather nicely).

For those of you who might not know, this is a Churn Dash block. Each block in the quilt I’m making consists of a cream centre square; 4 squares made of rectangles of each colour, and 4 half square triangle units.

it might make more sense this way, centre square, on the crossways are the squares of rectangles, and the half square triangles are in the corners

I didn’t include pictures of the cutting process, because that was done already before I decided to do so. However, my process for that is to find out how much fabric I have and then make a cutting guide on graph paper.  This helps me to make best use of fabric and to see that everything will fit.  As much as possible I like to make strips and cut from there.

Then I make stacks of the pieces needed for each block and pin those together in little packets – this gives me a second chance to count everything and make sure it is all ready to go when I get to sewing.

Then I take one packet and lay out the pieces.  In this case 4 rectangles (1.5 x 2.5 in) of cream and 4 of the colour together for sewing, the centre square (2.5 x 2.5 in) on its own for now, and the 2 of each fabric of the larger (3.24 x 3.25 in) squares together.  First I press a crease on the diagonal on each of the cream squares and these ones I pin, whereas I don’t pin the rectangles.
CIMG0581

Then I chain piece all the units together going up one side of the diagonals and down the other on the large squares.
CIMG0582

Then I snip them all apart and use my rotary cutter to cut the large squares into half square triangle units – and then go press everything open, to the dark side.
CIMG0583

CIMG0584

CIMG0585

Then I come back to the desk and trim up the HST so that they make a 2.5 x 2.5 in square.

CIMG0586
this got a lot easier when I got a square bias ruler, I was starting to wear a rut into the mat in this corner

Next lay out the pieces where they go in the block and start to sew the rows together – more chain piecing involved, then snip and press again.
CIMG0587

CIMG0588

Then I sew the rows together, one at a time, and these I do pin and I pin on the side with the angles (I have it in my head that my most wonky block is that way because I pinned on the side of the straight seams…).
CIMG0590

CIMG0591
back view – look at those seams all pressed and such, you’d almost think I knew what I was doing

Then one last press, then trim and ta-da Churn Dash blocks.

CIMG0580
these are displayed on point which is how I’m thinking of putting the quilt together, I kind of like the look better

I got quite the rhythm down with them and finished all of this month’s in 2 days (would have been sooner but I had to go back to the shop for more cream – slight boo boo in the first few kits – which I anticipated due to my lovely graphs in step one, but the shop was already closed … still 12 blocks in 2 days isn’t so bad for a total noob.)

CIMG0405
This is the finished top from the Dino quilt from… last year…
282253_10150882510681607_248016420_n
Here is the Dino quilt in action fully quilted
CIMG0409
this one is also from last year and is the top of a quilt I made for my brother and sister in law
CIMG0569
this one is new! baby quilt with half of a Ticklish jelly roll (there is a matching one with the other half but I don’t have pictures)
CIMG0579
Also new, a pillow case – one of two – love these and have plans for lots more

One thought on “Big Post of Randomness

Leave a Reply

