Olympic Victory

Much to my surprise I have an Olympic-knitting victory to report!

Specs: Northern Belle

Pattern: Northern Lights Cape
Designer: Asami Kawa
Source: Knit Picks

Size: 6-12mos
Yarn: Knit Picks Andean Treasure (100% baby alpaca, 110y/50gr, sport weight) in Amethyst Heather, Fog, Mystery, and Meringue
Needles: 3.5mm circs (Knit Picks Zephyr interchangeables)

Cast-On: Feb. 12. 2010
Bound Off: Feb. 20. 2010
Blocked: Feb. 23-26. 2010

Notes: I really liked the pattern, it is quick and very pretty. It was my first steeking project and it worked out very nicely. One thing I would have liked to see a little more detail on in the pattern was how to treat the stitches above and below the steek stitches when doing the pick-up for the ribbing. I’m pretty sure I did it ‘wrong’ and will modify it next time around. I really love the yarn, so soft and warm and lovely, I’m thinking maybe I needs some mittens or gloves made out of it.

I have another one of these to knit this year, probably in the largest size. And am looking forward to doing the pattern up again. I’m thinking it would also look good in a solid colour (one of my co-workers snow-mobiles and wants one in black…) and that would work up even faster.

I’ve also finished another project for the gift box.

Specs: Redtail
Pattern: Swallowtail Shawl
Designer: Evelyn A. Clark
Source: Interweave Knits, Fall 2006 (also available from Evelyn Clark’s online pattern store)

Yarn: Malabrigo Lace (100% merino, 470y/50gr) in Intenso
Needles: 3mm circs
Cast-On: Jan. 8. 2010
Bound Off: Feb. 4. 2010
Blocked: Feb. 5. 2010
Notes: I did 19 repeats of the budding leaf chart to make it bigger (or to use up more of the yarn given I was using lace-weight and the pattern calls for fingering). It is shawlette sized.

In other news…
* I’ve tried navajo plying again – I have some fiber I really want to be able to keep the colour progressions in when I spin it and am determined to figure out the navajo plying thing. So I found some sample fiber in my stash and spun it up and plied it last night. It is very tightly spun (probably overly so) and is between a lace weight and a fingering weight. But by the end I had a decent rhythm going and I think I might just be able to manage it going forward (now if I can only spin it a little thicker…)

*My younger sister announced her engagement (on birthday – but we’ll pass over that) so I’m trying to figure out what knitting will need to be done for that. I’m thinking of doing a wedding blanket, but not of the insane-making variety from last year. I’m thinking EZ’s Garter Stitch blanket (why yes, brooklyntweed did do one and that’s why you recognize it and I will likely adopt some of his modifications). I’m not sure of the yarn yet, I’m debating between Fishermen’s Wool or even Briggs & Little Regal. It’ll be in a neutral of some sort (probably a brown or grey, possibly a dark blue or green) – which will probably depend on what yarn I end up getting.
*I’m also thinking about making them an Absorba, anyone in Canada ever order from Pisgah Yarn and Dyeing Company, the site doesn’t have any shipping information.
*I was going to start a shawl in my handspun, but the pattern I want to do requires that I first get (or find…) some crochet cotton for the provisional cast on, the only cottons I have are way too heavy for the job.

4 thoughts on “Olympic Victory

  1. How beautiful! All of it! WOW to the caplet!

    I’m working with Fisherman’s wool for a sweater right now and I really like it alot. It is very soft for a wool and has a lot of dimension in the color (brown). Hopefully I’ll see you before I finish it and you can feel it knit up.

  2. What pretty things you’re knitting! I love the cape. It’s rustic and feminine and lovely all at once!

    Since you’re going to take it out and pick up stitches in the working yarn anyway, I wouldn’t worry too much about making sure you have crochet cotton for a provisional cast-on. I usually use a different colored left over sock yarn, and it works just as well.

Leave a Reply

