Who would have thought

spinning something thicker than lace weight goes so much faster… In all of the last year I’ve managed to finish one spinning project, the 10 oz of Lorna’s Laces Black Purl, which according to my usual practice I spun into 2ply lace weight (circa 40 wpi) – it took from October of 2008 until this January… Then the other night I was sitting around with my sister watching Whose Line is it Anyway on Youtube, and pulled out a 1/4lb of polwarth (hand-dyed from London-Wul, in blues) and by spinning it as worsted (well… from fingering to chunky) weight singles I spun the whole thing in a couple of hours… who would have thought.  Now, I’m not sure what I’m going to do with the resultant yarn (three skeins, the smallest of which is 83yds), but I have proven a couple of things:
1. I am constitutionally capable of spinning something other than lace.
2. Thicker singles do in fact not necessarily fall apart – miracle of miracles.
3. It is possible to finish a spinning project in less than 6 months.

I’m hoping with a little practice I could manage to spin such singles with a little more consistency, and then attempt my long admired feat of spinning yarn for a sweater. More particularly of spinning a malabrigo substitute for the Hourglass Sweater from Last Minute Knitted Gifts. (Which raises the issue of fiber… amount, blend… do I make the blend myself -and need to get a drum-carder, ‘cuz I just don’t feel like doing it by hand- colour, what can be used from the stash, what needs to be acquired… but that is all for another day… unless someone wants to volunteer some ideas.)

In the meantime, shawl plans abound. I continue to make progress on the MDAN shawl, I’ve nearly finished the fifth repeat (of 20) of the central panel. And I’ve been doing a decent job of getting a couple of rows in every day.

In my desk at work, for occupying breaks and other free time (like when I arrive early, as I am known to do), I have a Swallowtail Shawl in malabrigo lace (Inteso colourway). I’m up to the 11th or 12th repeat of the budding leaves chart, I’m going to do 19.

And last but not least, I’ve got plans for the long-in-coming Black Purl lace weight. My plan is to turn it into a Queen Silvia Shawl from Knitted Lace of Estonia. The pattern calls for 1375yds (and the yarn used in the pattern is one 100g skein). I don’t have any idea what kind of yardage I have, but I do have 307g so I’m going to assume I’m safe yardage wise (*hopes knitting gods aren’t listening*).

In other news…
– I’ve gone back to wearing contact lenses (and also have new glasses, which have been well received by the few who have seen them).
– I’ve lost 20lbs (one of my 101 in 1001 goals) – still can’t wear my ‘skinny jeans’ (not to be confused with skinny jeans which I would never wear being totally wrong in proportion for them, but my jeans that are too ‘skinny’ for me to fit into them)
– I have henna coming in the mail, so my hair will be changing colour (somewhat) in the near future
– I also ordered two DyakCraft batts, which I am rather excited to receive
– I’m going to try to start my Christmas knitting as my Olympic knitting

2 thoughts on “Who would have thought

  1. Feel free to pass the worsted weight blue stuff off to me….it looks yummy!!!

    PS You look great! If you keep going the way you are, your skinny jeans will be too big soon 🙂

    1. Thanks Leanne – I was thinking of knitting myself a scarf out of it.. though I’m really not sure another handspun scarf (in blue) is needed in my wardrobe…

      😀 Now if only the boys in Moncton thought the same thing…

Leave a Reply

