Socktober 09 – the First

October has arrived, cool, crisp, and vibrant. I haven’t in the past participated in Socktober on any level, but this year – dreadfully wanting in sock knitting – I figured I’d make a point of knitting socks this month.

Specs: Noro Stripes
Pattern: … basic sock with stripes
Yarn: Noro Kureyon Sock in S236 and S240

Yardage: .36 of S240 and .21 skeins of S236
Needles: 2.25mm dpn
Cast-On: Oct. 1.09
Bound-Off: Oct. 5.09
Notes: the stripes are 6 rows, and each sock has a different colourway for the main colour

Specs: Road Trip Trekking
Pattern: plain vanilla with short row heel
Yarn: Trekking XXL colourway 51

Yardage: .51 skeins
Needles: 2.25mm
Cast-On: Oct. 6.09
Bound-Off: Oct. 8.09
Notes: Nothing to report really, this is the first time I’ve used this yarn, I like it well enough

Specs: Caroline
Pattern: Carolina
Designer: Monkey Toes
Source: Ravelry download

Yarn: Noro Kureyon Sock in S236
Yardage: .54 skeins
Needles: 2.25mm
Cast-On: Oct. 9.09
Bound-Off: Oct. 11.09
Notes: I eliminated the most bright tealy green, but otherwise rather like this colour progression

I’ve also been working on both of my scrap blankets, they are progressing slowly, but surely. And a few more Christmas presents are done.

Specs: E’s Mittens
Pattern: my own design
Yarn: Briggs & Little Heritage and Briggs & Little Regal, Bleached White and Lilac
Yardage: only partial balls each, less than half

Needles: 3.5mm
Cast-On: Sept. 22.09
Bound-Off: Sept. 25.09
Notes: These were set up so that the gusset does not stick right out of the side, but partially to the front. A. thinks the flower on the back looks like the Transformer’s logo.

Specs: Beret
Pattern: Raisin
Designer: Raven Jakubowski
Source: Ravelry download
Yarn: Knit Picks, Wool of the Andes in Spruce
Yardage: 1.36 skeins

Needles: 3.25mm and 6mm
Cast-On: Sept. 26.09
Bound-Off: Oct. 5.09
Notes: I tried 3 different patterns, before lighting on Raisin, which only took a night to knit. I really like the pattern and will probably make another.

Mom and Dad have returned from Italy (bringing back the camera, hence the post). Tomorrow I start work, which is going to seriously cut into my knitting time.

I’ve been listening to audiobooks, audible.com is having a sale this month on classics. I bought a couple of favourites and am enjoying them exceedingly. I finished Tale of Two Cities. And now I’m in the midst of the Count of Monte Cristo, which I haven’t re-read in years though it is one of my favourites, I’m loving it- enjoying the things I’d missed and forgotten, savouring things as they unfold, and crazy anticipating certain points to unfold.

2 thoughts on “Socktober 09 – the First

  1. Quite taken by the mittens (and the socks, although somewhat less, since I need more mittens myself). I really hate how work and school cuts into knitting time, especially if your hands are cold. 😦 Definitely sympathize.

Leave a Reply

