The hits just keep coming

or what you can accomplish during Star Trek marathons…

FO: Mom’s Christmas Mittens

Pattern: not really a particular pattern, used a combination of sources on mittens in general and thrummed mittens
Yarn: Noro Silk Garden
Yardage: about 1.5 skeins (well, 2 with nearly half a skein total weight left over…)
Thrums: Briggs & Little Country Roving in natural/white (I used about 1/2 a disk… these mittens are well thrummed)

Needles: 4mm
Cast-on: Aug. 29.09
Bound-off: Sept. 2.09
Notes: I matched the stripes almost perfectly (which resulted in a slightly longer cuff on the second mitten), the mitts are very puffy and should keep mom’s hands warm. I’m really pleased with them, if they are a bit silly, someday I’ll get around to knitting myself a pair. I rather liked working with the Silk Garden, there was one knot in one of the skeins, thankfully it was at the point in the skein that is still in the ball of unused yarn.

And another- Soapy’s Sherwood

Pattern: Sherwood
Designer: Angela Hahn
Source: Knitty, Fall 2006
Size: 4

Yarn: Briggs & Little Soft Spun, in Wedgewood
Yardage: about 2.5 skeins
Needles: 3.5mm circs (and dpns)

Cast-on: Sept. 2.09
Bound-off: Sept. 7.09
Finishing: Sept. 7.09
Mods: um… well I pretty much winged the collar, not that it really required much thought.
Notes: I really liked the design and the ribbing made a really stretchy fabric (as in I could put the body of the sweater on… it was knit for a 2 year old…). The instructions for the sleeves confused me (it took a minute or two… or more… to realized I was suppose to knit back and forth for the first 8 or so rows to use up the gusset stitches); otherwise it was clearly written and very fun to knit. I loved not having any seams to sew up at the end.

Seriously, this part fits me… not esp. flattering I’ll admit, but I can put it on…

Also, I’ve been back to various yarn suppliers (ie. Zellers which sells B&L here and Cricket Cove). I picked up some malabrigo worsted weight merino, for possible cowls, scarves, etc. and some more B&L worsted for mittens. I’ve decided that double knit mittens will be sufficiently warm, regionally traditional, and challenging for the rest of the Christmas mittens.

I’m starting to think maybe I need a sweater in the Mullberry B&L…but before I spend any more time on that… the zombie is calling

Leave a Reply

