Productivity

All things considered this has been a productive few days. I’m making progress on the zombie, from which I am taking a break to blog. And there have been FOs and progress on WIPs. And I got my library card, New Brunswick has a fully integrated province wide library system… what a fantastic idea! I’m going to have fun just requesting things from all over… not that I have a lot of time for reading right now, but I can order Terry Pratchett from anywhere in the province!! (More about the library in a minute.)

First FOs.

Specs: Mom’s Neck Thing (and yes, her birthday is in March… and yes, I just finished her present…)
Pattern: Button-up Neck Warmer
Designer: Mavis Adam
Source: Spin-Off, Summer 2009

Yarn: Dye-Version Bamboo Sport
Yardage: about 1/2 a skein
Needles: 5mm
Notions: 4 purple buttons from Fabricville, Moncton

Cast On: June 24.09
Bound Off: June 25.09
Finished: Aug. 31.09
Notes: I tried a couple of other patterns before settling on this one. The pattern is great, interesting stitch pattern, texture, and very very quick. I just might have to knit one with handspun…

And a Christmas present that is now finished ahead of time… rather than an IOU…
Specs: Dad’s Maritime Winter Headgear
Pattern: Gussetted Helmet Liner
Designer: Ellen M. Silva
Source: Ravelry download

Yarn: Cascade 220 Superwash, in navy blue
Yardage: 200yds
Needles: 3.75mm and 4.5mm circs
Cast On: Aug. 31. 09
Bound Off: Sept. 01.09
Notes: The pattern instructions look way more complicated than the actual knitting is. I really liked the project, the construction was fun a good mix of mindless (7″ of 2×2 ribbing) and complicated. It also knit up really really fast.

I really don’t know what the dinosaur arms are for…

I continue to make good progress on mom’s mittens, I’m at the decreases for the top of the mitten already. (And I’m going to need more roving for thrums if I’m going to make mittens for the kids… or I could do double knit ones… those would be nice and warm…).

Back to the library, our library (Moncton Public) has old issues of Vogue Knitting, from the 80s and 90s, all bound nicely as hardcover books. I’ve decided to take them out a few at a time and flip through them for shits ‘n giggles. This week I have Fall and Holiday 1986. Here are some highlights:
*Articles by Elizabeth Zimmerman, one (Fall) on meeting up with knitters in England on a trip home and the other (Holiday) on afterthought thumbs in mittens and thumbless mittens for joggers.
*An article on knitters in literature
*Discussions of: short rows (used more for shaping edges than fit – but given it was 1986… lack of shaping makes sense); cap sleeves (presented as useful because of … fashions becoming fitted…?!); understanding cable charts; using beads in knitting; men knitting; different cast-ons; finishing techniques for machine knitters; an international project to knit a world map in patches
*lots of patterns that are… not in keeping with my sense of aesthetics… including plenty of: plunging backs, massive shapeless pullovers, huge shoulder pads, and giant intarsia Christmas trees, cats, and geometric shapes. In fact the only two patterns in the combined volumes I’d consider knitting are 13 and 14 from the Fall issue, which are … 1940s and 1950s patterns, only barely modified.
*some interesting varia: a large number of ads for knitting machines; ads referencing Casablanca and Marilyn Monroe; an overwhelming focus of patterns on women’s sweaters hardly even a vest to be seen let alone anything else; ads or reviews for books I recognize (the Harmony stitch dictionary, the Fox & Geese & Fences and Flying Geese & Patridge Feet books, Knitting the Old Way, The Ashford Book of Spinning)
*The more things change the more they stay the same: letters complaining that the “once beloved” magazine has gone downhill; familiar names (and faces) in designers and yarn companies

It is kind of fun to look at them (particularly given I was under the age of 10 for the whole of the 80s and therefore cannot be held accountable for anything I wore then…), and I think it will be an amusing if not also occasionally informative exercise.

3 thoughts on “Productivity

  1. I think those are ninja-crawling arms, not dinosaur ones! 😀 You’re so ahead on your Christmas knitting. I’m jealous.

    Then again, I didn’t end up giving the 5 million seeded rib scarves I made last year; I decided in March to just make them presents for 2009 instead. So really, I’m WAY AHEAD OF YOU. Ahem.

    Knitting is not a race. Really.

Leave a Reply

