Pre-Season FOs

It is currently pre-season… for football (yeah!!), for Christmas knitting, for school here (which starts next Tuesday), and fall, which appears to have asserted itself this week; and FOs are piling up, which is never a bad thing. This weekend I finished S.’s hood, a BSJ, and the first of 8 thrummed mittens for Christmas.

Specs: Little Red
Pattern: Little Red
Designer: Erika Flory
Source: For the Love of Yarn

Yarn: Briggs & Little Heritage, in Red
Yardage: 2 skeins
Needles: 4.5mm circs
Notions: one set of pewter claps
Cast-on: Aug. 25.09
Bound-off: Aug. 28.09
Finished: Aug. 29. 09
Mods: I added some decreases to the hood, in order to shape it as the point just wasn’t doing anything for me. I’m not really sure exactly what I did at this point, but basically I decreased at about 7″ over the centre sts until I had only 18 or 19 stitches either side (not counting the border), these were then three-needle-bound off as in the pattern.
Notes: This was fast, cute, and fun. I just hope it fits her… The yarn is rough and tough, and should be warm and wear really well.

Specs: NE BSJ
Pattern: Baby Surprise Jacket
Designer: Elizabeth Zimmerman
Source: Knitter’s Almanac (supplemented via Wiki pattern page in Rav)

Yarn: Galway and Galway Heather (Red, White, Grey and Heather Blue)
Yardage: not sure, I was using up leftovers from the stash, but I think I used the better part of a ball of blue
Needles: 4.5mm circs
Notions: 3 football helmet buttons from Michael’s
Cast-on: Aug. 28.09
Bound-off: Aug. 29.09
Finished: Aug. 29. 09
Notes: I used the ssk k1 k2tog, p the k1 on the reverse decreases and kept the stockinette ridge going for the increases. The striping pattern is (in ridges not rows): 1R, 1W, 1R, 13B, 1W, 1R, 1W, 7G, 1W, 1R, 1W the rest B. This pattern is really fun, I foresee many more in the future.

I also finished the first mitten of my thrummed mittens for Christmas, which has been an interesting experience. First off – the mitten is huge and looks insane, like a cross between boxing gloves and oven mitts… But they’ll be warm damit! It fits mom (yeah!) – seriously she has mutant long fingers… I started the second one last night, and am at the beginning of the thumb gusset (I’m modifying the tutorial from the Yarn Harlot with a Briggs & Little pamphlet and making some of it up as I go along, so far so good). I might have over-done it a bit on the size of my thrums, but far be it for me to under-do anything… though I am thinking of making them a little less intense for the other pairs.


I’m thinking narrower thrums might have made clearer heart shapes…

2 thoughts on “Pre-Season FOs

  1. What kind of base yarn did you use for your Thrum Mittens? love the colour! I’ve made quite a few pairs of these over the last year, a nice portable standby project!

Leave a Reply

