Third Time’s a Charm

Didn’t work for the socks… didn’t like where the magical mystical tour was going… but I seem to have finally found a pattern that my Fleece Artist Merino Sock 2/6 wants to be when it grows up.

I cast on the Diamond Fantasy Shawl (by Sivia Harding) over the weekend, looking for something harder than socks and less hard than the MDAN (and more portable). As it is getting nippy here a shawl seemed a good project. And what with 2 skeins of this in my stash and a pattern calling for… 2 skeins I figured I’d give it a try. Unfortunately, the 2 skeins I have, while both Midnight of the 2/6 one is very blue while the other is very purple… I quartered and spliced them for a previous incarnation and so far it is working out not too badly for this pattern (or I’m simply deciding I don’t care and it will just have to do… one or the other…)


You can see the change from one to the other, but we’ll see over all how well it blends, at the moment it isn’t terribly bad…

I’m really liking the pattern (despite screwing something up and having to tink back like 8 rows… somwhere along the line last night I switched rows part way across a row and didn’t figure that out until several rows later….). I like it so much, I’m already thinking of making another… maybe in yarn that matches even…


One of the diamonds in the purple section

Over the weekend I also finished the first of my Fanshawe socks (though I have yet to cast on the second… since I’ve been knitting lace instead…)

Today my most recent Knit Picks order came.
I got:
*10 skeins of Bare Merino fingering weight
*3 skeins of Bare Merino dk
*harmony fixed circs 2.5mm in 16″, 24″, and 47″

The fingering weight and the needles are for my attempt at the leggings from EZ’s Knitter’s Almanac. The DK is hopefully going to go into a couple of Christmas presents.

2 thoughts on “Third Time’s a Charm

Leave a Reply

