I have FO…

the first in a long while.


I just really love this picture…

Ace of Spades Mitts
Pattern: Alice’s Queen of Hearts Gloves
Yarn: Knit Picks Telemark in Cardinal and Black (one skein each 103yds/50gr)
Needles: Knit Picks nickle plated dpns, size 2.5mm
For: Christmas pressie
Size: one size fits… well I guess most women
Notes: I really liked the pattern, it knit up nice and quick and they fit me really well (here’s hoping they fit the receiver)


The mitts are on top of my Maid Marian Shawl

I have also been working on another couple of presents:

1. Sheldon with costumes, unfortunately someone *cough* A. *cough* deleted my pictures of Sheldon, so I only have one of the pirate shell in progress…

2. The MDAN shawl, it is nearly half done, which is my current goal for Christmas. I may get some of the second half started but I’ll never make it all the way through.


Please, someone, if I ever look like I’m thinking a beaded shawl is a good idea – stop me!! This thing is stunning but such a pain in the frakkin arse – okay not entirely true, I’m really enjoying knitting it, but the beads are a pain and are making it really really slow going.

3. I’m also working on some spinning. 4oz doesn’t sound like a lot, it doesn’t look like a lot, it doesn’t feel like a lot – but when it is spun into fine lace singles (really really fine) and then you go to ply it into lace weight 2ply it sure as hell seems like a lot!! I’ve already filled one bobbin with plied yarn and am started on the second – and I plied for over 3 hours yesterday!!!

And my plain old carry around in my purse sock is well into the foot now.

Obviously not a current picture…

In related news –
I’ve been acquiring new knitting books. Because Knit Picks was having a sale… I bought: Simply Shetland 4 (I want to knit the Autumn Rose Pullover – but not in the original colours as they would look icky on me); EZ’s Knitter’s Almanac (and I have now also ordered enough fingering weight bare merino to knit myself a pair of leggings…); and the kilt hose book (which is waaay more guidelines than actual rules – only EZ should be allowed to write patterns like that…)

2 thoughts on “I have FO…

  1. OMG I bought Knitter’s Almanac too!! Hee hee. I also ordered Opinionated Knitter and the new Mason-Dixon, and the new Yarn Harlot. It was too tempting with 40% off. Also some Harmony dpns. Now I just have to wait for it to cross the border.

    Lookit that shawl, ooooooo. The beads will make it sparkle in the end. (I know, it doesn’t help the process along, sigh.) Hang in there!

  2. OMG I bought Knitter’s Almanac too!! Hee hee. I also ordered Opinionated Knitter and the new Mason-Dixon, and the new Yarn Harlot. It was too tempting with 40% off. Also some Harmony dpns. Now I just have to wait for it to cross the border.

    Lookit that shawl, ooooooo. The beads will make it sparkle in the end. (I know, it doesn’t help the process along, sigh.) Hang in there!

Leave a Reply

