RPM and WPI

I’ve finished the first of my rpm socks.
Pattern: rpm
Yarn: Noro Kureyon Sock (colour 188)
Needles: 2.25mm
Size: 63 sts
Notes: I really like the pattern, but somehow I keep screwing part of it up… whatever, it looks fine. I was a little worried that I was making them too big, but if anything they are a bit snug, I think it must be the yarn. (Though the pattern does have some negative ease.)

(The leg looks a little baggy on the blocker, but it fits me fine, yeah, yeah fat legs whatever)

(It just occured to me… I could use the blockers to… block these socks….)

I’ve also finally got some more spinning done.

(Two and One)

Spinning 1:
Fiber: Merino/Seacell
From: The Purple Purl
WPI: 10
Weight: worsted
Yardage: approx. 140yds
Weight: c. 100g (well that was what I started with…)
Notes: I had already spun up the singles, yesterday I plied them.

(parts of this are much much better plied, need to make sure and hold on longer)

Spinning 2:
Fiber: 100% tussah silk (dyed) and 50/50 merino/silk
From: The Purple Purl and Lettuce Knit
WPI: 15-17
Weight: Sport?
Notes: I ran out of silk, so I started spinning more (this time of my own handdyed, base from The Black Lamb); I also have more merino/silk to spin too but at the moment I still have singles of that.

(I could have sworn this was going to be thinner…)

I have learned a couple of things while spinning of late.
1. You should really pay attention, as in, if I were listening I’d have known not to try to ply from the centre of a centre pull ball.
2. even the outside is a bit of a pain, better off with cat balls.
3. I started wearing latex gloves while spinning silk, it mean less matting in the roving (from contact with warm/sweaty palms/sticking to my hands) and less fiber lost from sticking to my hands.

2 thoughts on “RPM and WPI

  1. Oh now those RPMs look nice… I had peeked at that pattern, with the Noro long striping those bumpy swirls really pop out a lot more than with the variegated.

    I had no idea about wearing gloves with silk! (Reminds about something Mulder said about snapping on the latex. ;P)

  2. Ooooohhh… Those look loverly! Excellent use of the Noro sock yarn. I’m not sure what to do with mine, but you’ve given me a great idea…

Leave a Reply

