Saturday Morning After

Last night was the celebratory post-thesis defense party at the Purple Purl for Glenna.  (YEAH!)

As per usual I didn’t have the camera so I have no pictures of the party (boo), but I do have some of my haul.  It was a lovely time with cupcakes and purple cauliflower and punch and um… yarn and knitting and spinning and knitters and fun non-knitters.  [This is me going to Steph’s blog and commenting]

I brought my wheel and finished spinning the singles of the merino-seacell (I’ll try to ply that this weekend).  And Glenna tried it, she made lovely first-yarn-art-yarn-cat-yak, there are already plans for wheel related road trips in the future.  I was strongly encouraged by a couple of people to take my dyeing public.  I’m a little daunted by the energy that the start up part would include (figuring out what the govt needs/wants to know; finding base yarns, figuring out prices, etc), given the ‘I should be writing’ life I’m leading this summer, but on the other hand it might provide a much needed respite from hours at the computer battling the thesis-beast.  Thoughts?  Suggetions? 

The PP is awesome!  It is spacious and there are work tables and comfy chairs (and don’t get me started on the marshmallow squares), oh yeah, and they have yarn.  I sort of deviated from my stash busting regime and bought: 1 skein of Noro Kureyon sock, 1 skein of Alpaca with a Twist Fino, and 7 of fibranatura Mermaid (and got 2 skeins of Gloss from Glenna…) and 50g of merino in a lovely purple and red blend.   oh oh oh and I got one of the AWESOME PP re-usable shopping bags!  If you are in the city, check them out beautiful yarns (lots of local and fair trade), wonderful people, yummy snackables, and the best collection of purple stuff ever!  [Oh, and there is a Ravelry group too]

(The haul)

(The bag)

I have a couple of pictures from the weekend, hopefully I get somemore over the next week.  But as a taste:

(Not a bad impression… except for the mini-van in the background…)

(That expression of wheel-hypnosis spread from these little guys to the entire male population of the camp, apparently men are helpless in the face of engineering and things that go ’round)

 

2 thoughts on “Saturday Morning After

  1. It was an awesome party last night! And thanks for the week prodding, even though my cat yak was barely worth looking at 😉

    I love the pics from your reenactment. Clearly spinning is hypnotic.

    And thank you so much for the yarn- I keep staring at the beautiful colours 🙂

  2. I was just thinking, when you described spinning at a party, how I would be incredibly distracted by watching your spinning. It completely makes sense that the male population would as well. Mechanics plus a gorgeous lady behind them! Well, dag yo!

Leave a Reply

